Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Silver is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 3 reviews, with an average score of 4.0 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

4.7/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (43)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2014-10-24 16:20:53

A great lawyer

— Peer 10/24/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-21 12:42:56

No description provided

— Peer 06/21/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-14 13:12:01

I have referred over 20 challenging criminal matters to Ms. Isaacson in the last 8-10 years. Reports back from the referred clients have to each one been very favorable to outstanding. Note : I have not been contacted nor solicited by Ms. Isaacson to giver her the highest Martindale rating for, "AV". But I can strongly recommend she be listed as such.

— Peer 06/14/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-12 12:11:46

Definitely "AV" material

— Peer 06/12/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-12 11:12:54

No description provided

— Peer 06/12/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-04 11:13:14

No description provided

— Peer 06/04/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-06-04 11:12:13

No description provided

— Peer 06/04/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2012-05-15 10:47:17

No description provided

— Peer 05/15/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2009-08-18 11:42:21

No description provided

— Peer 08/18/2009

5.0 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

5.0 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

5.0 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.8 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.8 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.8 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.6 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.4 / 5.0
2009-08-26 15:11:29

No description provided

— Peer 08/26/2009

4.4 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.4 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

4.2 / 5.0
2012-05-15 11:53:33

Tara is a fine criminal defense lawyer.

— Peer 05/15/2012

4.2 / 5.0
2009-08-18 10:00:44

No description provided

— Peer 08/18/2009

4.2 / 5.0
2009-04-01 11:51:54

No description provided

— Peer 04/01/2009

5.0 / 5.0
2020-05-26

I enlisted Wally to defend my nephew on a DUI and drug possession charge. The facts were stacked against my nephew but since he is young and these charges could severely impact his future, I knew we had to fight it. Upon meeting Wally and his team, they very clearly explained their strategy and set realistic expectations. I have dealt with many attorneys in my professional life, in fact one of my business attorneys was the person who highly recommended Wally. I very much appreciated how matter of fact and to the point Wally was; it became apparent to me that his best assets were his extensive experience with the UT court system, keen legal acumen and strong litigation/negotiation skills. The bottom line; Wally though his efforts and incredible attention to detail reduced the DUI to impaired driving with a $500 fine. And the possession charge was reduced to a misdemeanor with a plea in abeyance and no fine. He was also able to reduce the time my nephew's license was suspended.

— Client 05/26/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2014-05-03

Our family was treated with kindness and exceptional professionalism. Tara is the best in this field. We can't thank her enough for all she did for my son.

— Client 05/03/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2012-08-05

I thank God every day that we found Tara and Wally, her partner. They maintained a professional relationship while still showing empathy and care for our son, a Marine, as well as his parents who were falling apart on several occasions. She did the best to her ability and got my son's charges reduced (rightly so!) and kept him from the threat of prison, sex registration. Although he will still have to endure some pain, they greatly reduced what COULD have happened to him.

— Client 08/05/2012

5.0 / 5.0
2011-01-27

Walter Bugden is a passionate and thorough representative of his clients. Mr. Bugden is willing to go above and beyond ordinary tactics to thoroughly and successfully represent his clients. Mr Bugden achieved excellent results against difficult circumstances.

— Client 01/27/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-01-24

Tara Isaacson was absolutely amazing. She took a horrible situation and completely helped me out. I have already referred numerous friends to her and they have all had the same results. I will continue to refer people to her and will use her again, if I ever need any legal help.

— Client 01/24/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2011-01-24

Tara is extremely hard working and cares for her clients. She is pragmatic in her preparation and very skilled with juries. She works well with others and keeps her composure in high stress situations. She believes in her profession and wants to help people. If you are lucky enough to have Ms. Isaacson as your attorney, as I was, then you can sleep easy knowing you are in good hands. She is a superb attorney that also happens to be an absolutely fantastic person.

— Client 01/24/2011

5.0 / 5.0
2014-10-02

Tara is not, in my estimation, your typical lawyer. From the moment you meet her, she just has a way of filling you with confidence. She actually listens to you, and considers how you feel, what you think and she's great at communicating. Tara breeds confidence in her clients, while at the same time keeping expectations realistic. Tara came into my complex case as co-council when I refused a plea deal and the case entered the trial phase. She quickly got up to speed and in no time at all she was kicking behind and taking names. I think the most important thing that Tara provided was that she truly seemed to believe in me after she reviewed the evidence. I can't remember a time when I asked her a question that she didn't have an answer, and more importantly, the answer wasn't always the one I wanted to hear but it was the truthful and honest answer - no lies, misrepresentations or surprises here. As an amazing testament to her character, Tara remained on the case even in light of personal tragedy and circumstance. With the help of Tara (and other wonderful people in her office) and Paul Grant (who is awesome too!) our case came to very successful conclusion, much to my happiness and that of my family. If I ever needed a criminal lawyer again, Tara would be at the top of my list - frankly I can't imagine trusting my life to anyone other than Tara and Paul. That being said, experiencing the criminal system once was more than enough.

— Client 10/02/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-10-04

Tara is one of the best attorneys I have ever met. She and Wally saved my life and helped me through a really rough time. I came to them after having had some really bad attorneys who only cared about money. She always gave good advice and really cared about me as a person. She went above and beyond and I'm eternally grateful. My case had many complexities to it and she was able to navigate all of them. My case involved a lengthy trial, an overzealous prosecutor, and thousands of pages of documents. With Tara's help we were able to overcome all of these tribulations and I was able to start my life again anew.

— Client 10/04/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-10-06

Tara is as good as it gets when it comes to criminal defense. From the moment I hired her she took my cases head on and worked diligently until we reached an outcome that we all felt good about. After multiple DUI's she was able to get me into a substance abuse program and kept me out of jail and allowed me to work on myself rather than sit in jail/prison. I highly recommend Tara and if you are in need of her services from working with her and researching all that work in her industry there is no one better in my opinion.

— Client 10/06/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2014-10-08

Tara Isaacson is a joy to work with, now you may be thinking, how is legal action a joy, and to be honest it wasn't BUT Tara made it so. I had an issue with my business and she was fast to act, gave me all the support I needed and held my hand through the process. She is truly a professional within her field but beyond that she is incredibly personable, I have never felt like another "billable" because she took the time to listen and she fought for me in my time of need. Thank you Tara for being a lawyer I can always count on and trust in.

— Client 10/08/2014

5.0 / 5.0
2015-03-02

I have gotten into trouble a few times in my life, twice, it involved Federal Agencies, i was incredibly scared, and it could have turned out worse, much worse than it turned out. She was incredibly thorough, very involved in every aspect of my case, not just that, she knew a lot of the judges, prosecutors and agents involved. For services like Tara's, you would expect to be paying an incredible amount of money, but you would be wrong, she is very fairly priced, and really, for your freedom, what would you pay? i would consider Tara a friend.

— Client 03/02/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2015-05-29

In April of 2013, myself and 5 other people were unjustly charged by an overly aggressive Utah Prosecutor from the Attorney General’s Office with multiple felonies for Fraud. I was referred to Tara Isaacson by an Attorney in my area, who was unable to represent me. From the very first meeting, I felt as though Attorney Isaacson was very upfront and honest. She wanted me to understand all the possible outcomes to my case. Once she reviewed the evidence and spent a considerable amount of time talking to me, she went to work. It took 20 months before we were able to get a preliminary hearing. We had many hearings in that 20 month period. At every hearing Attorney Isaacson and her Partner Attorney Bugden were on time, prepared and ready to defend me. Every brief that was required to be filed was delivered to the Judge on time and in most cases ahead of time. Not all the defendants in the case were able to say the same. After one of the hearings, one of the other Attorneys, that represented a different defendant, said ‘We are so glad you hired Attorney Isaacson and Attorney Bugden, they make our job so much easier’. Attorney Isaacson was poised and showed great skill in the court room. The briefs were well written and to the point. Her examination of the State's witnesses were very detailed and well planned out. I was very impressed with her abilities in the court room! When you are facing Felony Charges you need a well respected and aggressive Attorney. Attorney Isaacson is both. The fee schedule was set up front and at no time was I charged more than I had been told. There was complete transparency in all matters. Attorney Isaacson answered every question I asked and I never felt like I was bothering her. The Judge finally dismissed all charges at the preliminary hearing. The genuine emotion of relief I felt from Attorney Isaacson on that day was amazing. I know she takes her job very personally and always has the best interest of her clients at heart. I will ALWAYS refer her to anyone that is in need of a defense Attorney.

— Client 05/29/2015

5.0 / 5.0
2016-02-23

Tara was amazing. I've been in trouble with the law a few times and was facing a felony charge for the second time. This was a DUI case and I thought for sure I was dead to rights. I had hired a few different lawyers in the past and really wasn't impressed with any of them. I felt they really didn't care about the outcome and my well-being. I felt they just wanted the money and the case to end ASAP. Tara on the otherhand went the extra mile. I felt like she showed genuine interest and concern. She made me work for it a bit, but all her suggestions worked. She stayed in constant contact with me and made sure I was doing my part. All in all she did an amazing job. I couldn't be happier. Hopefully I don't need a lawyer again, but if I do, I'll be calling Tara again. Thanks

— Client 02/23/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-05-04

I was falsely accused of sexual touching by a minor client and after visiting with 5 different defense attorney's I chose Tara and Wally. And I'm so glad I did! She was always available for my calls/texts, kept me informed of their progress and proactively went on the offensive to gave the ADA the information he needed to make sure charges weren't even filed. They were incredibly professional and empathetic at the same time. They are worth 6 stars.

— Client 05/04/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-05-31

I became entangled in a Patriot Act related violation while traveling through an airport. It eventually resulted in a grand jury letter two years later. I faced felony charges from the federal court in Austin, Texas. It included a penalty of 5 years imprisonment and a $250,000 fine. No matter what I tried to do to resolve the situation it only got worse with each new event with the differing federal government agencies. We thought we were going to lose our home and I would be in prison for at least 2-3 years minimum. Searching for legal counsel was seemingly impossible adding to my family stress levels. I needed someone we could trust and believe my side of the events and walk us through the process - returning calls in a timely manner. My wife and I made at least 4 dozen phone interviews with differing attorneys in Utah and Texas trying to find help - about 45 calls on a checklist we had. More so difficult in our search, we needed a licensed federal attorney to represent us. We eventually found Tara's firm along the way and received a referral from a counselor at Kirton/McConkie who represent large clients in the Salt Lake area on a national scale. John Wayne said: "Life is hard, it's even harder when you're stupid." - That's what was happening to me - no matter what I did to resolve the matter, it made things worse. Not until we hired Tara did things get turned around. She was direct and quick with putting me back on track - she asked me what the exact facts were. She also went to work communicating with the federal prosecutor in Texas. As a result, I wasn't apprehended by US Marshals, I wasn't forced to find a bondsman and putting up a hefty bail, and over the course of months, her actions on my behalf and helping me find additional legal counsel in Texas, I was eventually able to stay out of prison and continue providing for my family. She explained everything to me in the process and it became clear how much more severe my problems were than I initially understood. I also studied up on her and knew she'd taken some extreme client problems and worked them out in the courtroom and with prosecutors. The best advice is to simply stay out of trouble but sometimes trouble finds you when you've made dumb mistakes. Hire Tara and move forward as she will get you and your family through it. Please. I feel like I lost 10 years of my life which could've been avoided had I found her sooner.

— Client 05/31/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2016-09-30

Tara offers a service that I feel is superior to 95% of the attorneys out there, she is an extremely competent attorney, she's a great communicator, you will know exactly where you stand with your case and what your options are, easy to get a hold of, quick to reply to communications, and a strong office support staff!

— Client 09/30/2016

5.0 / 5.0
2017-05-16

I was a client of Tara Isaacson. She is an excellent attorney. She is aggressive, thorough, and well organized. Although not the nicest attorney, her other qualities more than make up for it. She is always on the top of her game, detailed and takes great pride in her work. Many utah attorneys I have worked with do not. You can count on her aggressively defending you.

— Client 05/16/2017

5.0 / 5.0
2018-01-15

From the moment I hired Tara I felt a huge sense of relief. She knew what she was doing, worked tirelessly on my behalf and achieved an outcome that gave me my life back. Being innocent and being accused of a horrible crime is frightening Tara believed me and fought for me. I’d recommend her without hesitation.

— Client 01/15/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2018-08-18

Tara is one of the most skilled, knowledgeable and caring attorneys I have encountered. She was on time and extremely prepared for each and every court proceeding. Communication was excellent throughout the entire process. Very responsive to questions. Excellent demeanor and skill in the courtroom. Very reasonably priced. Extremely honest and ethical. All of which resulted in the dismissal of my case. I would HIGHLY recommend!

— Client 08/18/2018

5.0 / 5.0
2019-01-18

Tara was the best lawyer! She was available when we needed her, answered all our questions quickly and helped us get the best possible outcome we could get. I would definitely recommend Tara to anyone.

— Client 01/18/2019

5.0 / 5.0
2019-12-02

Tara and her team were just incredible. I was in a very tough position facing very serious charges for a crime I did not commit. Their organization, thoroughness, and professionalism - along with Tara’s sound strategy and impressive court presence - helped me clearly and powerfully present my case to the judge and secured a positive result, and I am now on my way to restoring my reputation and rebuilding my life. It’s not possible me to have a higher recommendation for Tara - she is a life saver.

— Client 12/02/2019